Objectifs et fonctions de l'Association

L'Association canadienne des études latino-américaines et des Caraïbes (ACELAC) a été fondée en 1969 dans le but de poursuivre les objectifs suivants:

  • Faciliter les contacts personnels et les échanges d'information entre les personnes engagées dans l'enseignement et la recherche sur l'Amérique latine et les Caraïbes, au Canada et ailleurs.
  • Favoriser l'expansion de l'information et susciter l'intérêt du public pour l'Amérique latine et les Caraïbes partout au Canada, et particulièrement dans les milieux académiques.
  • Représenter les intérêts professionnels et académiques des latino- américanistes.

Notre vision:

L’ACÉLAC est un organisme scientifique international, diversifié et dynamique, basé au Canada et promeut l'enseignement et la recherche, entre et au sein de divers disciplines. L'Association diffuse et mobilise la connaissance sur l'Amérique latine et les Caraïbes et ses diasporas par des réseaux et des partenariats au Canada et à l'étranger.

L’ACÉLAC est une ressource importante d'expertise pour les chercheurs, spécialistes, ONG, décideurs politiques, éducateurs et les entreprises privées qui s’intéressent aux pays et aux peuples de l’Amérique latine et des Caraïbes.

Grâce à ses activités, l’ACÉLAC contribue à la compréhension des expériences culturelles, politiques, sociales et économiques des peuples de l'Amérique latine et des Caraïbes.

Notre mission:

L’ACÉLAC favorise le développement continu d'une communauté intellectuelle dynamique par ses événements, ses publications et ses communications. L’Association soutient la recherche et l'enseignement, fournissant les infrastructures et les compétences nécessaires pour faciliter la mobilisation des connaissances et des stratégies d'engagement.

L'Association fait la promotion des intérêts professionnels collectifs de ses divers membres. L’ACÉLAC cultive, soutient et promeut les programmes d’enseignement sur l’Amérique latine et les Caraïbes partout au Canada.

L’ACÉLAC s’adresse aux communautés originaires d’Amérique latine et des Caraïbes, aux ONG, aux instituts de recherche et à des scientifiques internationaux afin d’établir des partenariats. En outre, l'Association travaille à informer des décideurs politiques et des organisations privées ainsi que publiques par ses événements, ses publications, ses ressources virtuelles et ses médias de communication.

L'information de contact

Administration

Catherine Sawyer

CALACS / ACÉLAC / ACELC
8-17 Kaneff Tower
York University
4700 Keele St.
Toronto, Ontario M3J 1P3 
E-mail:

Rédactrice, RCELAC

Jessica Stites Mor

Department of History
University of British Columbia, Okanagan
1149 Research Road, ART 242
Kelowna, BC, V1V 1S7
Tel: (250) 807-9655
E-mail:

 

Trésorier

Kelly Anne Butler

Aboriginal Affairs
Grenfelll Campus, Memorial University
University Drive
Corner Brook, Newfoundland
A2H 6P9

About CALACS

The Canadian Association for Latin American and Caribbean Studies (CALACS) was founded in 1969 with the following purposes in mind:

  • To facilitate networking and information exchange among persons, in Canada and abroad, engaged in teaching and research on Latin America and the Caribbean;
  • To foster especially within Canadian universities, colleges, and other centres of higher education, the expansion of information on and interest in Latin America and the Caribbean; and
  • To represent the academic and professional interests of Canadian Latin Americanists.

The CALACS Congress is held every year. The association also sponsors thematic workshops and events with other Canadian area studies associations. We are proud to support a widely respected interdisciplinary periodical, the Canadian Journal of Latin American and Caribbean Studies, which has published continuously since 1976. The Association awards a prize for the outstanding dissertation on Latin America and the Caribbean done at a Canadian university.

CALACS' Mission and Vision

Vision

CALACS is a diverse and vibrant Canadian based international scholarly organization that promotes disciplinary and interdisciplinary research and teaching. The Association disseminates and mobilizes knowledge of Latin America and the Caribbean and their Diasporas through networks and partnerships in Canada and abroad.

CALACS is a significant source of expertise to scholars, researchers, NGOs, policy makers, educators, and private sector organizations with an interest in Latin American and Caribbean countries and peoples.

Through its activities CALACS contributes to the understanding of the cultural, political, social, and economic experiences of Latin American and Caribbean peoples.

Mission

CALACS fosters the ongoing development of a dynamic intellectual community through a variety of events, publications, and communications media. It supports research and teaching and provides the infrastructure and capacity necessary to facilitate knowledge mobilization and engagement strategies.

The Association promotes the collective professional interests of its diverse membership. CALACS encourages and advocates for active Latin and American and Caribbean educational programming across Canada.

CALACS reaches out to and establishes partnerships with Latin American and Caribbean communities, NGOs, research institutions, and international academics. In addition, the Association works to inform policy makers, and public and private sector organizations through its events, publications, communications media, and virtual resources.

Important Contacts

Administrative Contact

Catherine Sawyer

CALACS / ACÉLAC / ACELC
8-17 Kaneff Tower
York University
4700 Keele St.
Toronto, Ontario M3J 1P3 
E-mail:

Journal Editor, CJLACS

Jessica Stites Mor
Editor in Chief, CJLACS
Department of History
University of British Columbia, Okanagan
1149 Research Road, ART 242
Kelowna, BC, V1V 1S7
Tel: (250) 807-9655
E-mail:

Secretary-Treasurer

Kelly Anne Butler

Aboriginal Affairs
Grenfelll Campus, Memorial University
University Drive
Corner Brook, Newfoundland
A2H 6P9